The “About” Page

For once, I put a decent amount of effort into a page about me. I tried my best to cover all the common questions and attributes, and fill in most of the cursory “what do you likes?” I left out a physical description. If anything I would suggest looking at a photo of me. Make up your own mind, my words probably wouldn’t help.

I wanted to include a list of all the movies I have (over 850 titles) and so I looked for a nice online database where people could see a comprehensive list. I don’t claim to have seen all of these, and it would probably be more useful to have a list of my favorites, but I would hate to leave a good movie off the list simply because when I compiled it I wasn’t in the mood for that movie. I found that iMDB had built in functionality for this, but its not very pretty, so I would caution you against it. I think I’ll make a separate page (like the About page) for movies. Eventually.

I also decided to use last.fm for my music page. I could have just listed the myriad of artists I listen to on a regular basis, but I have a very wide range of tastes and didn’t know how to best represent that. I’ve had an account for a very long time, and I fear its a little weighted towards my tastes from two years ago. However, I’m sure that over time it will even out and give a nice summary of my tastes. I still like those bands, I just don’t have much of that music anymore, most of them have stopped making good music, and they never find their way onto my playlists. C’est la vie.

I want to do a page for TV as well. I use a nice tracking webpage, MyEpisodes.com, to let me know when new episodes of all my favorite shows are airing. It doesn’t have a nice page to list show the public, but compiling one should be easy. I could also check and see if TVRage has anything like that. If not, I’ll surely compile a list of my own.

A list of books couldn’t hurt either. Or a list of blogs I subscribe to (thanks to Google Reader). There is certainly a lot more information I could compile about myself, but who knows if it would even be remotely useful to anyone. I suppose we’ll see.

In a few hours (after some sleep) I’ll probably write an update about revision control software, Flyboys, and whatever else tickles my fancy. I’d quote something from Hamlet, but I’m too lazy. Maybe another time.

0 Responses to “The “About” Page”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

RSS What I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

